2018 Ruby Awards


~ Celebrating the shining stars of South Australia's Arts and Cultural sector ~

The Ruby Awards are South Australia's premier event to honour the best of the state's arts and cultural industry.

Named after late arts patron Dame Ruby Litchfield, the annual awards recognise artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, community involvement and inspirational leadership.

All winners receive a bespoke, ruby-coloured glasswork designed and made at the JamFactory. The recipient of the prestigious Premier’s Award is also honoured with a gold nameplate on a seat in the Festival Theatre.

The 13th annual Ruby Awards were held on Saturday December 1, 2018 at the Queen's Theatre in Adelaide.

This year’s judging panel comprised eight key industry and media figures: Adelaide Fringe CEO and Director Heather Croall, Adelaide Festival Co-Artistic Director Rachel Healy, South Australian Museum Director Brian Oldman, ACE Open CEO Liz Nowell, artist Gavin Wanganeen, President of Recitals Australia Mark de Raad, Channel Seven News presenter Jane Doyle and The Advertiser Arts and Entertainment Editor Jillian Attrill.


2018 Ruby Awards - Winners


Best Festival

WINNER: Adelaide Fringe 2018


Best Work or Event Within a Festival

WINNER: Hamlet – Adelaide Festival and Glyndebourne Festival Opera (Adelaide Festival 2018)


Best Work or Event Outside a Festival

WINNER: Beep – Windmill Theatre Co


Best Community or Regional Event or Project

WINNER: AREA 53 – D’Faces of Youth Arts


Best Work, Event or Project for Young People

WINNER: Ngarrindjeri Yanun – Carclew Youth Arts


Made in Adelaide Award

WINNER: Backbone and A Simple Space – Gravity & Other Myths


Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation or Group

WINNER: Vitalstatistix


Frank Ford Memorial Young Achiever Award

WINNER: Nicholas Carter, Principal Conductor, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
(Pictured is Vincent Ciccarello, Managing Director, ASO)

Stevie Gadlabarti Goldsmith Memorial Award

WINNER: Major Moogy Sumner


Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award

WINNER: Nick O’Connor, Director, Northern Sound System


People’s Choice Award

WINNER: True North Youth Theatre Ensemble


Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement

WINNER: Alison Milyika Carroll



Launched in 2006, the Ruby Awards are an annual celebration of South Australia’s Arts and Cultural sector.

They recognise artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, community involvement and inspirational leaders who have made a difference to the artistic and cultural life of South Australia.

The awards are named in honour of late arts patron Dame Ruby Litchfield, and are managed by Arts South Australia.

In 2018 the awards were revamped with new categories, expanding from 10 awards to 12. Read more about these changes here.

For a full list of past winners and finalists, click here.