2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature

Thirty-seven writers from around Australia have been announced in the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

The biennial awards offer a total prize pool of $167,500 across six national and five South Australian categories, including the coveted Premier’s Award worth $25,000 for the overall winner. Previous winners include Helen Garner, Les Murray, Robert Dessaix, Peter Carey, David Malouf, Dorothy Porter and Tim Flannery.

Winners will be announced in a special ceremony at Adelaide Writers' Week on Saturday, 3 March, as part of the 2018 Adelaide Festival.

2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature shortlist

National Awards for published works 

Children’s Literature Award - $15,000

  • Rockhopping by Trace Balla (VIC) (Allen & Unwin)
  • Dragonfly Song by Wendy Orr (NSW) (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Fall by Tristan Bancks (NSW) (Random House)
  • How to Bee by Bren MacDibble (VIC) (Allen & Unwin)
  • Sister Heart by Sally Morgan (WA) (Fremantle Press)
  • The Other Christy by Oliver Phommavanh (NSW) (Penguin)

Young Adult Fiction Award - $15,000

  • Ballad for a Mad Girl by Vikki Wakefield (SA) (Text Publishing)
  • First Person Shooter by Cameron Raynes (SA) (MidnightSun Publishing)
  • My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier (NSW) (Allen & Unwin)
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (VIC) (Allen & Unwin)
  • One Thousand Hills by James Roy and Noel Zihabamwe (NSW) (Scholastic Australia)
  • The Boundless Sublime by Lili Wilkinson (VIC) (Allen & Unwin)

Fiction Award - $15,000 

  • Ghost River by Tony Birch (VIC) (University of Queensland Press)
  • The Last Garden by Eva Hornung (SA) (Text Publishing)
  • The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau (NSW) (Bloomsbury)
  • Some Tests by Wayne Macauley (VIC) (Text Publishing)
  • From the Wreck by Jane Rawson (VIC) (Transit Lounge)
  • A Loving Faithful Animal by Josephine Rowe (TAS)(University of Queensland Press) 

John Bray Poetry Award - $15,000 

  • Ghostspeaking by Peter Boyle (NSW) (Vagabond Press)
  • Missing Up by Pam Brown (NSW) (Vagabond Press)
  • Year of the Wasp by Joel Deane (VIC) (Hunter Publishers)
  • Inside My Mother by Ali Cobby Eckermann (SA) (Giramondo)
  • Fragments by Antigone Kefala (NSW) (Giramondo)
  • Redactor by Eddie Paterson (VIC) (Whitmore Press) 

Non-Fiction Award - $15,000 

  • Quiet City: Walking in West Terrace Cemetery by Carol Lefevre (SA) (Wakefield Press)
  • Position Doubtful by Kim Mahood (ACT) (Scribe Publications)
  • Our Man Elsewhere by Thornton McCamish (VIC) (Black Inc)
  • The Boy behind the Curtain by Tim Winton (WA) (Penguin Books Australia)
  • Understory by Inga Simpson (QLD) (Hachette Australia)
  • eat first, talk later by Beth Yahp (NSW) (Random House Australia)


South Australian Awards and Fellowships

 Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award - $12,500

  • Prodigal Jones by Duncan Graham
  • 19 Weeks by Emily Steel
  • Strata by Peter Beaglehole

Art South Australia Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award - $10,000 + publication of the winning manuscript by Wakefield Press

  • Making Friends with Alice Dyson by Poppy Nwosu
  • A New Name for the Colour Blue by Dr Annette Marner 

Unshortlisted Fellowships

  • The Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship - $15,000
  • The Max Fatchen Fellowship - $15,000
  • Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship - $15,000