2016 Ruby Awards

Ruby Award concept design reverse

A visionary philanthropist and an Arts luminary with a track record of excellence, have been announced joint winners of the Premier’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2016 Ruby Awards.

The awards, which celebrate the best of South Australia’s arts and culture, were attended by 400 people at the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra’s Grainger Studio in Hindley Street.

Ulrike Klein who migrated from Germany in 1983, co-founded the acclaimed Jurlique skin care label, before turning her considerable talents and determination to her dual passions of music and nature in the creation of UKARIA Cultural Centre at Ngeringa in the Adelaide Hills.

Ulrike realised her vision last year when the UKARIA Cultural Centre, with its 220-seat concert hall purpose-built for chamber music, was opened.

UKARIA has attracted national and international artists, is known for its exquisite acoustics and has a growing reputation for curating and programming a distinctive program of performances all year round.

Rob Brookman, the soon-to-retire Executive Director of the State Theatre Company South Australia, worn dozens of hats throughout his distinguished career in the Arts.

He was Artistic Director of the 1992 Adelaide Festival when he also founded Australia’s leading world music festival WOMADelaide and remained as Artistic Director until 1999.

For eleven years from 1999 – 2010 Rob was General Manager of Australia’s leading theatre company, Sydney Theatre Company.

In his four years at the State Theatre Company, the number of performances has almost doubled, attendances have increasing by close to 50 per cent, and he has delivered a string of box office records and three successive annual surpluses. He was awarded an AM for his services to the arts in 2010.


And the winners are:

Best Work:

  • The Young King, Slingsby
  • The Aspirations of Daise Morrow, Brink Productions
  • Cloudstreet, State Opera of South Australia
  • WINNER - Girl Asleep, A Windmill Theatre Co and Soft Tread Enterprises’ film.
    Commissioned by Adelaide Film Festival’s HIVE Fund with support from the South Australian Film Corporation.

Windmill Theatre_Girl Asleep_L-R Fiona Dawson, Maiah Stewardson, Grace Dawson. Photo by Andrew Commis


Best Event:

  • The Petrushka Project, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
  • Adelaide Film Festival 2015
  • Adelaide Fringe Parade, Adelaide Fringe
  • WINNER - TARNANTHI: Festival of Contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art, Art Gallery of South Australia

Best Event - TARNANTHI image


Community or Regional Impact under $100,000:

  • Guildhouse Traditional Craft Skills Workshops, Guildhouse
  • A Kid Like Me, True North Youth Theatre Ensemble
  • Responding to Racism, ActNow Theatre
  • WINNER - Desert Fringe, Adelaide Fringe

Desert Fringe 2016 (Archie Roach) Photo by Trentino Priori


Community or Regional Impact over $100,000:

  • WINNER (no shortlist) - Gorgon: State Educational Regional Tour 2016, State Theatre Company South Australia

Community or Regional Impact over 100 - State Ed Regional Tour 2016 Gorgon, image 4 Shane Reid


Arts Innovation & Enterprise:

  • The Young King, Slingsby
  • Things I Know To Be True, State Theatre Company of South Australia
  • Exquisite Corpse, Zephyr Quartet
  • WINNER - Girl Asleep, A Windmill Theatre Co and Soft Tread Enterprises’ film.
    Commissioned by Adelaide Film Festival’s HIVE Fund with support from the South Australian Film Corporation

Windmill Theatre_Girl Asleep_L-R Harrison Feldman, Bethany Whitmore. Photo by Shane Reid


Sustained Contribution by an Organisation or Group:

  • Guildhouse
  • Vitalstatistix
  • Adelaide Fringe Festival
  • WINNER - Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

ASO 80th 9


Inaugural People’s Choice Award:

  • A Kid Like Me – True North Youth Theatre Ensemble

Community Impact under 100 - A Kid Like Me 2 - Aaron Herczeg photography


Sustained Contribution by an Individual:

  • WINNER - Sally Chance



Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award:

  • WINNER - Lee-Ann Buckskin

Lee-Ann Buckskin image


Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement:

  • JOINTLY AWARDED TO - Rob Brookman and Ulrike Klein

Rob Brookman image


Ulrike Klein headshot