2018 Easter long weekend - what's on in SA

Looking for something to do this Easter long weekend? We’ve got you covered!

There are plenty of great exhibitions, shows and events on all over the state, with many of South Australia's arts and cultural institutions open over the holiday break.

And best of all, most of it's FREE!

North Terrace, Adelaide
Open 10am to 5pm every day of the Easter long weekend.
FREE entry, some exhibitions may be ticketed.
Ph: 8207 7000

Adelaide cabaret rising star wins $10,000 Made in Adelaide Award

Adelaide cabaret performer Anya Anastasia has won the 2018 Made in Adelaide Award for her show The Executioners.

Announced at last night’s Adelaide Fringe Awards, the award from Arts South Australia comes with a $10,000 cash prize to support the presentation of The Executioners at the 2018 Edinburgh Fringe Festival in August.

One of two shows written, performed and presented by Ms Anastasia at this year’s Adelaide Fringe, The Executioners is a new contemporary cabaret blending original songs and storytelling.

2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature winners announced

South Australian author Eva Hornung has been awarded the state’s highest literary honour, winning the $25,000 Premier’s Award at the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Ms Hornung beat 36 other shortlisted authors from around Australia to win the prestigious prize for her novel The Last Garden, which also won the $15,000 Fiction Award.

She is the first South Australian author to win either award, joining a stellar list of previous Premier’s Award winners including Robert Drewe, Peter Carey, Dorothy Porter and Tim Flannery.

Arts South Australia: Leading change in respectful behaviours policies

Heralding a new era against all forms of victimisation, bullying and harassment, Arts South Australia has introduced a policy requiring funding and grant recipients to implement a Respectful Behaviours policy and procedure.

From today, funding will be contingent on adopting the zero tolerance policy, which will be written into funding agreements or grants. 

Local companies and artists to share in bumper arts funding boost

Twelve South Australian artists and arts organisations will share in more than $300,000 in state government funding to support career development, community arts engagement and the creation and presentation of new work.

In total six individual artists and six organisations have received $305,022 in funding, the majority awarded through Arts South Australia’s Independent Makers and Presenters (IMPP) Building Pathways program, which assists independent, professional local artists to build their profiles nationally and overseas.

Funding recipients include:

Arts South Australia takes a stand against bullying and harassment

The State government body charged with advancing and supporting the Arts and Culture in this State has placed the safety and wellbeing of all those working in the sector at the fore, by making the adoption of a workplace anti-bullying and harassment policy a condition for anyone receiving government funding.

Arts South Australia is taking a proactive leadership approach to this serious issue.

"The safety and wellbeing of our entire sector is of paramount importance," said Arts South Australia Executive Director, Peter Louca.


Subscribe to RSS - News